RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Cracked photo and retouched image

Old 02-18-2009, 09:02 PM

Cracked photo and retouched image

A friend gave this picture to work on. I am new at this but I did the best I could, in fact probably over done it. Still some of the girls faces are too dark, the little girl in the center lost her right ear. I am using Photoshop 7.01 and Corel Paint Shop Pro X1
please critique:

http://home.comcast.net/~ebrown1927/...d/retouch.html
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-18-2009, 10:20 PM

Re: Cracked photo and retouched image

Hi Sluggo, (I remember a cartoon character named sluggo from the old Nancy comic strip)

Took a quick try at the little girl with a missing ear.

On the unretouched photo I used the lasso tool and made a selection of the good ear and hen jumped it (CTRL + J) to its own layer. Then I went to EDIT and down to TRANSFORM and did a horizontal switch. Moved the ear to the other side. Lowered the opacity of the layer to position it and then returned the opacity to 100%. Added a mask and removed the extra of the selected part that was not needed.

Did a little quick retouching to get rid of the other artifacts and then flattened the image prior to positing.
dc
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ear.jpg (36.6 KB, 118 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-19-2009, 02:42 AM

The photo requires a very small clone tool at very high magnification to fill in detail with similar surrounding detail. The facial features were dark and flat... they needed sculpting with highlights on the foreheads and cheek bones, etc with some very pale white, of they can be dodged to a lighter tone very gently.

I didn't chase down every single dust spot, but the important details are done... I think that you lost the contrast in some areas with your version... pay close attention to shadows and highlights....

Cheers