RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Newbie Nees Help w/ Badly Water Damaged Photo

Old 03-21-2009, 01:32 PM

Newbie Nees Help w/ Badly Water Damaged Photo

Hello all - This is my first post to RetouchPRO and, right off the bat, I'm asking for help. I have a restoration/repair job for a customer and it looks nearly impossible. Attached is one of the two photos I need to try to improve/restore. This is the ONLY photo my client has of his father and it is BADLY water damaged. He really wants me to try to keep the whole body in the photo because the costume of the subject is an important part of the photo/story. But there is almost no detail to work with waist down (there's really not a whole lot of visible detail to work with at all...) Any suggestions? Anything at ALL would be much appreciated.

Thanks very much!

P.S. I am a newbie to RetouchPRO, but I am an experienced Photoshop user (current version is CS3). I've done 3 restorations/touch-ups previously, but none were anywhere near this difficult.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Water Damaged Photo.jpg (93.2 KB, 198 views)

Last edited by a0157518; 03-21-2009 at 03:11 PM. Reason: Add postscript
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-21-2009, 02:42 PM

Re: Newbie Nees Help w/ Badly Water Damaged Photo

First of all: welcome.

I would recommend a couple of things:
Upload a higher res image. You can go as high as 100k. The higher the res the easier will be to tell what needs to be done.
Post your best crack at it and the members will guide you with all kinds of recommendations.

Welcome!

Quote:
Originally Posted by a0157518 View Post
Hello all - This is my first post to RetouchPRO
(current version is CS3). I've done 3 restorations/touch-ups previously, but none were anywhere near this difficult.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-21-2009, 03:28 PM