RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Old 05-18-2009, 09:16 AM

Smile Newbie

I've started a small, in-home, sideline in photo restoration.

I'm 55 and hoping to make enough to supplement my income so I might retire at 62 vice 67.

Is this a feasible idea? I see a large range of fees, from simple touch-ups in the $30 range to rather large amounts for involved restorations.

I'm still learning my way around PS and Picture Window and have been working with b&w from the 1940s (some in excellent condition, some not so much).

Comments/ideas solicited. I don't know what I don't know.

Tim T.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-20-2009, 03:10 AM

Re: Newbie

Hi Tapiot,

if you will sink or swim depends on so many factors. You certainly have a realistic timeframe though.

My advice is that you learn PS as much as you can to begin with. If you really like it and still think you can make a living out of it, start your own company. Do this slowly, I have a company of my own here in Sweden and it's much to learn before you can focus on your main business. When you have come to this point, try to get clients and jobs without quiting your day job.

If all is well, you'll know what to do after this.

/Peter
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-20-2009, 11:37 PM

Tim,
To get up to speed quickly, one must be either very talented artistically or technically. Usually, the artistic ones win, merely because they can make the tools do what they want without much trouble, and get a broader range of results from each tool... all of this just comes more naturally.