RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Call for help : about that finishing touch...

Old 10-13-2009, 09:36 PM

Hello everyone,

First time posting here, although I lurked (sporadically) for years. Sorry, in advance, for my poor english, I promise I do as best as I can.

I've been tasked by my loving father with repairing a picture of my great grandfather. My grandmother (she's a great-great-grandmother to quite a few little monsters) is slowly losing her memories and we're loading an LCD frame with picture of her gigantic, extended family.

The picture has been torn and has a good lot of scratches but nothing too terrifying. There's also a 'medallion' of my great grandmother that is stuck to it and won't come out anytime soon. The whole picture is pretty small, about 5x3 inch.

I'm a technician type of guy. While I don't have much if any artistic sense, I can understand instructions. So, following the many tutorials I read over the years (thanks in good parts to many of you guys and gals!), I managed to clean it up to something I find acceptable : there's still faint traces of spots and scratches but I feel like anymore filtering and I'm headed to plastic manic. So I'm mostly happy with the image quality. For a second try (first was two years ago) at restoring a picture, I think I could be reasonably satisfied with myself.

What I'm unhappy, and really undecided about, is what to do with the resulting,clean image, to make it a 'finished' product. What to do with the irregularly cut vignette of great'grandma? what to do with the upper right corner? etc. -- Aesthetic things. For me, this is 'ouch!'. -- I thought about trying to make the medallion more 'round' but no luck. I thought of using some frame template with big pocket-like corners to mask the ripped-off corners, but no luck either, it looks too artificial.