RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Old photo scans

Old 01-28-2010, 05:12 PM

Old photo scans

Hi everyone, I am new in this section of Photo restoration, having posted mainly in Retouching group.
Recently I asked a question on the Retouch group, but had little response so thought I would try here.
My cousin has sent me some old family photos that she scanned. The photos have a lot of noise and wavy lines. I think mainly because of the setting on her scanner.
Could any one possibly please advise on how to scan old photos so that they are at least a little clear and not covered in wavy lines and lots of noise.What dpi is best etc..
I promised my cousin that I would restore the old photos, as I have done quite a few for family and friends in Photoshop and Paint Shop Pro, in the past.But after seeing the scans she has sent to me, I think it would be close to impossible.
I feel sure that the actual photgraphs are not as bad as the scans.
So am writing here for some general advice.
Thank you.
Pat
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-28-2010, 06:22 PM
Patron

Re: Old photo scans

Pat, what you are seeing may be textured paper that was used in the 70's mostly. The noise may be noise or something else. It would be best if you could attach a sample for folks to look at.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-28-2010, 09:40 PM

Here is a link to an example of the pics, thank you for any help
http://i640.photobucket.com/albums/u...t/scan0004.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-28-2010, 11:19 PM

If that is an example of what you are attempting to restore, you don't have much to work with. I think your first step would be to get your cousin to send you the originals. That way you will know if there is enough there to work with, and you can make an attempt at a better scan.

Dave
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-29-2010, 12:36 AM

Dave