RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Request feedback

Old 03-08-2010, 02:17 PM

Request feedback

This is my first post and I am new to RetouchPRO. I came across this photo on line while I was looking for work. They requested that the original photo be restored and colored and sent back to them. After sending them the restored photo I awaited some feedback, which never came. So I am requesting some input as to the quality of my work, as I am self taught, and I enjoy restoring old photos. Thanks for any feedback
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 10-Sarah.jpg (93.8 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg 10-Sarah_a.jpg (63.5 KB, 104 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-09-2010, 12:48 AM

Re: Request feedback

I think you would enjoy the tutorial section or you could look for threads like this one
Attached Images
File Type: gif 10_sarah_chillin1.gif (122.3 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by chillin; 03-19-2010 at 11:15 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-09-2010, 07:41 PM

Thanks for the reply. I'll take a look at them.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-09-2010, 09:02 PM

P51,
Restorations can be touchy, especially for the owner of the image. Some people want very little done, some a lot. Without having spoken to the owner, you simply don't know what their expectations were.

If I were the owner, I would have preferred less done to the image. But, that's just me. I really like the restoration to simply fix the damage and bring out more detail in the image. If it still looks old, I like it that way.

You may find colorization to be similar. Some like a lot (as you have done), and some want only a tint like would have been done in the early 1900's. Again, my preference is only a tint.

Overall, I think your restoration was pretty good. My issues would be with the hair and the arms. Something about those just don't look right.