RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

All channels look bad in stained hand colored B&W

Old 06-09-2010, 02:57 AM

Question All channels look bad in stained hand colored B&W

Hello there!
I am a second time newbie, as I used to restore photos before but, that was a couple of years ago and I had forgotten many things.
My mom is trying to make a painting out of some old photos and I offer to help as an excuse to get back in track with Photoshop and to restore some other not-forgotten photos that have been patiently waiting their turn...
I have CS3.
I did remember about the channels but they all look bad. Am I overlooking something?
Thank you,
Virginia.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Turbiam_03.jpg (90.5 KB, 93 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-09-2010, 08:32 AM
Patron

Re: All channels look bad in stained hand colored

Well I took a look at your photo and your right. All the RGB and CYMK channels look bad. So it looks like you are going to paint some too to restore this one.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-09-2010, 08:55 PM

I would want to know if there are more photos of this person to compare.
Very little detail left in lower face. Very difficult if this is the only photo.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-09-2010, 10:03 PM

Virginia,
Welcome back. I'd agree. Also, there appears to be some distortion possibly caused by the scanner. You may wish to start with a better scan.