RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Techniques for Blown Image

Old 11-04-2010, 05:22 PM

Techniques for Blown Image

Hi everyone,

I've reviewed several threads discussing this topic, but as I'm fairly new to restoration, I'd like to get some opinions/details on the best approach for restoring the attached photo. There are just so many approaches. I know I can darken some of the areas, but there is a lot of missing details. Any thoughts about replacing the background to improve the people in the picture? I'm using Photoshop Elements 7. Appreciate your expertise.

Thanks Bill
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img537.jpg (89.7 KB, 139 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-04-2010, 06:25 PM
Patron

Re: Techniques for Blown Image

As you have already identified there are many ways to approach this type of restoration. I do not think there is neccessarily a 'best way or approach'.

My personal view is keep as much as the original as possible assuming that it is recoverable - this includes the background! I would only change the background if it was really too bad. In this case I would not want to make drastic changes.

Had a quick play - if it is any help these are the steps to get to this stage (think this should work in Elements 7):
1. Duplicate layer and set to layer property to multiply
2. Dup again set to multiply
3. Dup third time and add layer mask and paint over foreground figures and background missing the two standing ladies.
4. Convert to B&W
5. Add a curves layer and mask the standing ladies. Adjust curve to match rest of image
6. New layer and retouch sky as required

There is still a lot more work that could be done to improve the image but I think that this is not too bad a start - hope you find it useful
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Family.jpg (97.0 KB, 102 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-04-2010, 06:36 PM