RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Restoration philosophy

Old 11-28-2010, 06:56 PM

Restoration philosophy

I'm fairly new to restoration and have a few clients that are happy with my work. I have usually been finishing the restorations in a sepia or antique style. My question is, what is the standard: try to restore the photo to it's original look, or finish it as though it is an older photograph with clean up and aged appropriately? What if the original photo was a glossy black and white?

Maybe there are resources here on RetouchPro or there may be other web sites that discuss best practices. I would also be interested in good books to acquire about restorations.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-29-2010, 06:21 AM

Re: Restoration philosophy

I will not answer directly to your question...I am a fan of old photographs. I gather them in boot sales, yards sales, attics etc...and of course some are coming from my own family. Seeing all these old things, mainly from the 50's/60's - some older, many of them are printed on glossy or textured paper with a pretty accurate sharp real black and white - not sepia (at least in France and GB), most of them are tiny which make them look sharper than they actually are, If you enlarge them, you must keep that sharpness (as long as it's not damaging too much the image). They are "better" than what many people may expect of an old photograph. So I'd say, and unless the customer say differently, keep them the way they are... But just my opinion....

PS: My best advice for books is Katryn Eismann
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Photoshop-Re...1033567&sr=8-1

In a sense she owns the market...

Last edited by 4personnen; 11-29-2010 at 06:27 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-29-2010, 12:19 PM