Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Is PSD the best option to work on?

Old 07-01-2002, 08:50 AM
New guy

I've been doing restorations for about a year now, flying by the seat of my pants and have come to the conclusion that I need to "refine my techniques". I have memory problems (not the RAM
kind!) and would have been lost without my son's help. I have to keep doing something new over and over to get it to stick.
I stumbled across Doug's site and am amazed at the willingness
of the people to lend a hand.

I'm new to using a forum, but here goes: I have PS 7.0; is it best
to always convert a file to PSD before working on it? I will usually scan a photo at 300 but sometimes have JPG's from the digital camera.

Thank you.

Attached is a recent job I did.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg naomi before and after.jpg (28.9 KB, 61 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-01-2002, 09:13 AM
Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Hi Danno,

Welcome to the site. I'm sure you'll like it here. I also have a digital camera that puts out Jpeg files. When I get them into the computer, I save them as Tiff files and make them read only. That's not to say that's the *best* way, but it works for me. When I work on the file, it is usually saved as a Photoshop file because it has layers and additional channels in many cases. Jpg is not used except for special conditions, like posting to the web. Again, that's just my preference. Does your scanner only output Jpg? BTW, take what I have to say with a grain of salt. There are many others more knowledgable on the site. Again, welcome aboard! Nice job on the restoration. The vignette looks great! It does look as if you've lost a lot of detail in the clothing, which could have been saved by using layer masks or other methods (if you wanted to save the detail).

Reply With Quote top