RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Restoring old photo speckled with yellow

Old 04-09-2011, 07:24 PM

Restoring old photo speckled with yellow

Hello,
First time I ever posted on this forum. I have photoshop CS5 and while I'm not an expert, I am not a total newbie either..I guess somewhere in between. I have a photo that a co-worker gave to me sister to see if I could fix for her. She put the jpg image on a CD. She got it from her grandmother who wouldn't part with any of her originals. By the looks of the pictures that were on the disk, I think that she took a picture of the original and that's what I have to work with. Some of the pictures on the disk were very old and I mangaed to restore them so that they looked a lot better than what I was given. But this particular picture, I'm not sure how to remove the yellow that is peppered throughout. This is what was on the disk. I've cropped it and removed some of the stains, but even using the clone brush, there's not a lot of area to get a good sample from. If I can get past getting rid of the yellow, then I think I'll be fine. Any suggestions? Thanks for any help or advice that you can give.
Charlotte
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ps_2010_12_28___15_24_57b.jpg (80.6 KB, 166 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-09-2011, 08:04 PM
Patron

Re: Restoring old photo speckled with yellow

Charlotte, welcome to RetouchPro! There are many ways to get rid of the yellow and correct the image. One quick way is to add a Selective Color adjustment layer on top of the background. Select the Yellow channel from the pull down menu and then drag the yellow slider all the way to the left.
Now hit Ctrl+J twice to triplicate the selective color adj layer. Your yellow will be pretty much gone but you will need to make corrections to restore proper skin and hair color.
Regards, Murray
Attached Images