RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Mildew/mold on photo

Old 07-26-2011, 04:19 PM

Mildew/mold on photo

Hi All,

I ran across this photo in our family mess of photos and am trying to figure out how to restore it in Photoshop CS5. I have others that part of the photo has been somewhat destroyed by what looks like the pox, but I assume is some sort of mold, breaking down of emulsion, or something.

Does anyone have clever ideas of how to get through to the original enough to restore it? I am a poor artist so can't really just re-draw.

I tried my best, the channels are all about the same. I then decided tried various filters and dodging and burning, all to no avail. It is still in progress, but I will attach were I am now also. It really is a bunch of skulduggery in that I superimposed heads of my grandmother and grandfather on the photo. Didn't have one for the baby.

Thanks for any suggestions, or even, "at that amount of damage it will not be possible" -- either would help me!

Judy

PS Oh yes, does anyone know whether it is common to have such outsize images in a photo? The father of the kid seems to be almost a ghost he is so far removed in size from the mother and son. "Would you mind standing back, sir, further, further, further"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pop trix dad 2mos orig.jpg (80.9 KB, 79 views)
File Type: jpg pop trix dad 2mos restoring 2.jpg (48.0 KB, 72 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-26-2011, 04:54 PM
Patron

Re: Mildew/mold on photo

If you are trying to revive the first image back to how it looked originally then you should try scanning again but this time aim for a larger image size and a high dpi. It also could be worthwhile to make sure you are scanning in 24 bit colour as I get the feeling that this may have been scanned as greyscale - it just may help by recovering a little more information.