RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Help with restoring civil war era map

Old 08-11-2011, 03:41 PM

Help with restoring civil war era map

A family friend asked me to try to clean up a map that she was told is from the civil war. I'm a photographer by hobby and deal with skin blemished and the like. I tried some things, but I'm to the point of throwing up my hands. I look forward to any help you (all) can provide.

http://i603.photobucket.com/albums/t...ct-lightBW.jpg

What I would like:
to get rid of crease lines and dark patches
clean up detail as possible
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-11-2011, 06:15 PM

Re: Help with restoring civil war era map

Hi Beldecca

Just my personal opinion.

I know the customer has asked for something different. I do a lot of restoration of work from the 1800's (mostly genealogy related).

For some memorabilia, the character of the items includes the creases, folds, stains and yellowed color.

If that were a family heirloom to be duplicated and shared, I would get a high resolution color scan, have color matched prints made with appropriate paper at the exact same scale, and have them nicely/appropirately framed.

From my perspective, what you have is a beautiful document in great shape with history and character which includes the folds, color, stains, etc.

Personally, I think what you Photoshp away will take away from its value.

Just my opinion of course and I am not the customer.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-11-2011, 06:34 PM
Patron

Hi

There are lots of ways of doing this and I don't know if what I am suggesting is necessarily the most efficient of fastest.