RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Newbie question--uneven color in old photo

Old 09-05-2011, 11:35 AM

Newbie question--uneven color in old photo

Hi, everyone! I'm strictly amateur at photo repair and consider it a hobby. I have been doing it for several years so I'm not a beginner, but there is still a whole lot I don't know, and would very much appreciate your advice. I'm using Photoshop CS 8.

I'd say I'm about halfway through the restoration. The original photo is stuck to glass and there's no way I'm going to try to remove it, so I'm working with it as-is. My intention for the final product is to crop it in a round or oval shape (whichever works best) to get rid of all the irreparable damage but maintain the old photo vibe.

So far I've desaturated, manually retinted, cloned, painted, dodged and burned, adjusted the curves, saturation and contrast, and applied a gaussian blur to the background to make the subjects stand out more.

Somewhere during all this the unnevenness of the color, especially on the babies, has become more obvious. They look like little ghosts. I've tried burning, adjusting the curves, and even lowering the brightness on the affected areas and nothing looks right.

Any advice and criticism would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg lynna ggpa.jpg (97.2 KB, 129 views)
File Type: jpg lynna ggpa working.jpg (86.5 KB, 114 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-05-2011, 09:38 PM

Re: Newbie question--uneven color in old photo

Hi Lynette
It is a little hard to tell because your posted images apparently were compressed so much that there are many JPEG compression artifacts obscuring the issue you are having.

Here is what I think.
- The original image does not look like it has an issue and there is plenty of tonality to work with.