RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Blue dot stains/streaks

Old 09-05-2011, 11:52 PM

Blue dot stains/streaks

Greetings all. My first post and visit here and I like what I see. I've been restoring over 2,000 family photos for the past several years now using Photoshop CS5 currently.

I've looked over previous threads to make sure this wasn't already asked and answered. I saw some attachments showing a similar problem but here is my main question.

Just what is the cause of these blue or bluish-green dots that appear all over the image? In most cases, it almost looks like an ink smear but this is so common on many of my photos, I can only assume that it must have something to do with the cyan dye being the first to go and somehow gets smeared around from movement inside the proverbial shoebox of photos.

It seems only a painstaking effort with the Healing and Clone brush is the fix but I'm curious about the cause. I could literally attach hundreds of examples.

Any ideas or is a sample image necessary?
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-06-2011, 10:20 AM
Patron

Re: Blue dot stains/streaks

High Baldy, welcome to RetouchPro.

An example or 2 stating age and storage conditions would be helpful. While natural uneven fading of dyes could be the culprit the description seems to fit more of a physical problem either in storage or prior to that poor processing.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-06-2011, 02:28 PM