RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

cleaning up purple, blue and white spots

Old 09-07-2011, 08:24 PM

cleaning up purple, blue and white spots

Hello everybody,

This is my first post, I hope this doesn't violates too many aspect of etiquette in the forum :-)

I stumbled upon this thread:
http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/pho...ld-slides.html while searching for a solution to my problem.

I got to restore for publication an old photo scanned from negative at 4000 DPI
(I guess, I am the photo clean-up guy, and I have no idea what kind of photo is the original one).

I use the GIMP in Windows XP (no Photoshop available, I am a hobbyist).

This photo got many different kinds of problems on it:
blue specks,
purple and white spots,
etc.,
and I was reduced to retouching by hand the whole photo - it took nearly a day of work, and I think there must be a better way.

Here I include a resized copy of the problematic photo, I hope this is big enough to get a taste of the problem
(the original JPEG file is nearly 4 MB).

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/6...37small.th.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Tomorrow, I will upload a version of the retouching/restoring I did, to give an idea of where I tried to go with the photo.

In the meantime, I hope the experts here will be able to experiment and test some ideas.

Regards,
N.Fotis
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-08-2011, 04:37 AM

Re: cleaning up purple, blue and white spots

Hello again,

to give an idea of the result of my hand-made clean-up, I point to this image:

http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/618...7csmall.th.jpg

Needless to say, I am not very happy with the result, especially in the sky at the left part of the image.

After I made a clone-stamp treatment, I used the Colors/Equalize and Colors/White Balance on separate layer copies of the original image, then mixed the results.