RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

getting rid of this purple mark on old photo

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2012, 03:02 PM

getting rid of this purple mark on old photo

Hi, i'm new to photoshopping old photos. i am trying to retouch an old photo and am stuck at this point:
there are some kind of purple/blue-ish patches all over the photo, (see attached image) how do i go about getting rid of it?

any help is greatly appreciated!!
thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot.jpg (94.9 KB, 111 views)
Old 02-06-2012, 09:18 AM

Re: getting rid of this purple mark on old photo

Red channel seems fine. It is limited to the green and blue channel (blue channel looks fairly messed up).

I was first thinking to use the green channel to replace all or parts of the blue channel, but I don't know how bad the colour shift would affect the rest of the image. And since some of it is in the green channel it won't be enough to remove it (and it will still look bright).

2nd thing I tried was selective colour. Adjusting the blue, cyan and magenta channels. It did reduce, but not remove it. Definitely an improvement, and worth a try.

Perhaps combine both methods? I've seen this type of "stain" before; but I have no experience in removing it. Anyone else?
Old 02-06-2012, 12:09 PM
Patron

This is a difficult one to do and look good partly due to the pixel artefacting as well as the staining damage. It could be due to image size restrictions on the forum or a less than optimum scan of the original.

Assuming that this is a scan from an old print what size is the original and what settings did you use for the scan process?