RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Help and Advice Needed on this photo

Old 06-01-2012, 10:04 AM

Help and Advice Needed on this photo

Hi I need some help on this photo... I am not an expert by any means -- and my weakness is getting rid of grain and then somehow bringing back detail without bringing back the grain.

I know there are other areas to address such as the staining in her dress and the background... the corners etc... but my issues right now are the following:

If you look at the skirt area of her dress you can see a definite line where its darker on the bottom compared to the top - I am not sure how to deal with and hoping for some advice and / or a description of the steps I should take to fix this.

Because this was an oval I have tried to reconstruct corners (Fill / Content aware) so its a rectangle - I know that the corners still need more work... I just wanted to upload what I have so far and ask how I fix / get rid of that distinct line in her dress area... and ask for advice on what else should be done... did I bring too much contrast back? As you can see it was a very faded photo.

Any hints or tips would be greatly appreciated. Because I do not think I can make the bottom corners "perfect" per say... what advice do you have for me... maybe a vignette?

Thank you so much for taking the time to look at my post
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RestoreBefore.jpg (97.1 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg RestoreAfter.jpg (98.1 KB, 72 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-01-2012, 02:22 PM

Re: Help and Advice Needed on this photo

Here is another idea.
Healing brush set to lighter on the darker line.
Then make a new layer fill with 50% gray. Then set layer to soft light.
Paint the darker area with the dodge tool, I used about 30%.

I fixed the eyes then
Add a soft frame.
Attached Images