RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

CARE for Sandy

Old 04-28-2013, 08:41 PM

CARE for Sandy

Hello Everyone,

I recently started volunteering for the CARE for Sandy organization http://www.careforsandy.org/. This group restores photographs that were damaged in hurricane Sandy that happened in 2012 on the east coast of the United States (not only here but this is where the group is based). I have met some amazingly experienced people in this forum during the past week and I wanted to spread the word to you. If you are interested in doing some charity work, this is a great cause. They can use all the help that they can get and could really use some people with the advanced skills that I have seen here.

Thanks,
Richard
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-28-2013, 09:25 PM

Thumbs up Re: CARE for Sandy

Richard, thanks for this information. I'm a NJ resident and know all too well the devastation that occurred during the hurricane.

I completed the volunteer form today and hope to get started working on some photos soon.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-28-2013, 10:08 PM

Re: CARE for Sandy

Pixeltek,
Thank you for registering. They are pretty swamped right now so expect 7-10 days before you hear back. I'm out in AZ but I am so glad to be able to help out my fellow Americans. I have restored a few images so far and it is a wonderful feeling. Thanks again and I wish you the best.

Richard
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-17-2013, 10:56 AM

They just sent me my first photos to repair. I'm excited to get started on them.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-17-2013, 10:59 AM

That is awesome!
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-13-2013, 07:28 PM

I have joined Operation Photo Rescue. They, too, are working photos from Sandy. The pictures from Oklahoma haven't started coming in, yet.