Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Need to know how blur filters work

Old 08-29-2002, 03:31 PM
Need to know.

Hello, I need to know how the blur filters work on images. Where do i need to go to find this kind of information. Also on the sharpening filters as well.

Btw. I'm a high school student. I can't buy a lot of books on photoshop. I have one or two of them.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-29-2002, 05:41 PM
Do you mean: (1) How the algorithms work or(2) The effect of the various filters? You might try a search with the phrase " Blur Filter Effects Algorithms"....Tom
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-29-2002, 07:41 PM
The sharpening filters are easier to describe. They look at edges in the image, and anywhere they find one, they exagerate the contrast just along that edge. The various controls determine how wide an edge they look for, and how much they increase the contrast. Too much and you get the dreaded halo effect.

Blur filters are more intuitive to use, but harder to explain. They make things....blurrier Again, the controls determine the range of pixels affected and how much they're affected.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-29-2002, 10:04 PM
You might give this link a look to begin with...
Good luck...Tom
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-30-2002, 11:02 AM
Adding to the above, try here:

This is on sharpening.

By telling you this is not going to help you much. Their are some books out their on the above subject.
If you want........When "Professional Photoshop" (the one updated for P.S.7) comes out. I'll give you the one I have for P.S. 6 for free, if you want it. That might help you. E-mail me your address and I'll ship it too you...... As long as you don't live on the other side of the world.