RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

How to remove spotlight

Old 12-06-2013, 02:21 AM

How to remove spotlight

Hi,
I have a very important photo which hs been ruined by a spotlight on the most important member in the group.
Can anyone guide/help me in the best way to remove the spotlight & yellow tinge?

Any help gratefully accepted.

http://http://www.flickr.com/photos/24872552@N08/11196845024/

Regards Spence
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2013, 01:02 AM

Re: How to remove spotlight

This is quite difficult. The spotlight casts all sorts of light, color etc. on the man's face. All skin roughness is accentuated in a way that is hard to correct.
Anyway, as no one else has replied yet, I gave it a try. I am far from a professional retoucher, so other forum members may do better.

This is roughly how I did it. Convert to LAB color mode, as separating color from lightness may be helpful. Make a rough selection of the parts that get directly illuminated by the spotlight. Open a curves adj. layer and get the A and B values right (e.g. similar to someone else on the picture). Now select the parts that are somewhat half in shadow. Repeat the process. Move on to the parts that are in shadow.
Repeat the process for lightness corrections, mostly using the same masks.
Some local correction may still be necessary afterwards.

I attached my result. It may look OK at first sight, but when zooming in, the face still looks unnatural.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FamilyPicture-corrected.jpg (71.4 KB, 133 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-08-2013, 04:39 AM

The direction of the light in the mans face, caused by the spotlight, has a totally different direction than the rest of the picture: It is coming from above. That does not match the mood of the rest of the composing and makes it look like a collage.