RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Lab damaged cover shot

Old 08-08-2014, 09:57 AM

Lab damaged cover shot

Hi RetouchPro

This is my first post to this forum and RetouchPRO. I will try to be as relevant as possible.
I'm a pro photographer in London. My project at the moment is making books of cities at dawn. This shot was taken 2 years ago and I was gutted as it was going to be a contender for the Venice at Dawn book cover. It got fogged on the rack at the lab. Stuff happens yah...
I was wondering if it can be saved. I tried some restoration awhile back and failed miserably. I thought I would come here and ask for some pointers on how to get this looking fabulous and if you think it can actually reach that point. I've seen some incredible work done here, but I just don't know if this neg has enough info to even try to repair it. What do you think?
Cheers
Anthony Epes
Attached Images
File Type: jpg venice_image027.jpg (94.5 KB, 148 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-08-2014, 01:33 PM

Re: Lab damaged cover shot

I think it's relatively salvageable (depends on how large and "truthful" of color you want to be) because you have a pretty decent blue channel for detail (thought the left piers are pretty empty), and the color is open to interpretation and can be largely made up and painted in, as needed. We're only taking about shades of blue/red with spots of yellow/warmth for the lights.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-08-2014, 08:25 PM
Patron

Well I copied the layer and then used a curves adjustment layer and lowered the green channel. A gradient can be used to limit the effect to the grain area of the photo
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 8.19.20 PM.jpg (163.5 KB, 80 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-09-2014, 05:17 AM