RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Making Xmas Cards, Postcards, etc.

Old 09-08-2002, 12:17 AM

Making Xmas Cards, Postcards, etc.

I uploaded some postcards to the gallery, and commented there that surely many others here make cards--personal Xmas cards, greeting cards, or cards for clients, but I have not yet seen this topic discussed. If you do it, or would like some pointers on how to do it, tell us here.

Some of the areas to be discussed would include good papers to use, waterproof coatings, folding your own vs. pre-folded card stock, as well as design ideas, borders, fonts, use of cartoon graphics along with photos, ways to put together a collage card, etc.

I have a lot of experience with such things from making both postcards and greeting cards over the years, but papers and techniques keep changing, and others will surely have great tips that we can all use, so I hope you will write with your questions or suggestions, or post some sample cards to inspire us!

You can see sample Xmas cards as well as more postcards on my website, URL below my signature.

Phyllis
www.innographx.com

Last edited by pstewart; 09-08-2002 at 01:18 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-08-2002, 10:23 AM

Here's my first try from Christmas 2001...

There are two overlapping background images (downloaded from the net) + the layer-masked-in-with-Photoshop mugshots.

The local Office Max store had 20-count Kodak "greeting card" packages (pre-perforated cards + envelopes + Kodak cardmaker software, which I never opened) marked down to $4. I bought every package they had.

Took one test run to get the alignment squared away on the perfed paper, then I was in business.

I guess it is time to start thinking about this again, but I'm not ready to yet!

~DannyR~