RetouchPRO

RetouchPRO (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/)
-   Photo Restoration (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/photo-restoration/)
-   -   More Authentic Photo Restoration (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/photo-restoration/38128-more-authentic-photo-restoration.html)

Pete Donegan 11-24-2014 06:02 PM

More Authentic Photo Restoration

1 Attachment(s)
Hi everybody! It's ages since I posted but I've just started on a job of restoration and I thought I would like to run some ideas past the experts on Retouch PRO to see what you think. I've been doing photo restoration for quite a few years now, but something has got me thinking. We use tools like the healing brush and patch tool etc, and at first it looks really good. You can't see the repair. But when you compare your work with the damaged original you see you've smoothed out some important detail! Does anybody know what I mean?
This is most noticeable on faces. I've found for detailed work, the healing and patch tools to be unpredictable for this kind of sensitive detail work. I find the challenge is not to make an unblemished face, but the face it was meant to be!
So I've found it to be more accurate and authentic (but slower) to use the clone tool with smaller dabs, and the paintbrush, sampling a colour from nearby. The aim being to not put any mark in that you can't justify. When I zoom out again, it looks to me a whole lot more "authentic". Does this make sense? I've been applying these "old school" techniques for a while now, and am more pleased than before. I am attaching my latest project/challenge as it is now, and when I'm done, I'll post the restoration for your comments!

Nezbitten 11-25-2014 02:21 AM

Re: More Authentic Photo Restoration