RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

My First Photo Restoration/Reconstruction

Old 07-09-2015, 10:10 AM
Patron

Red face My First Photo Restoration/Reconstruction

This photo is me in 1984. Until a couple of weeks ago, all I had was very poor resolution scan. Fortunately I have now located the original, but I decided to work on the low res scan because I'm sure that's a scenario I will run into if I want to do this for others.

I am a photographer and I normally do art with my own high resolution digital photography, deliberately making my new photos look old. This is the first time I have ever tried to work on an old photo, and I had a little trouble letting go of nitpicking every pixel. I need to bite the bullet, go out and get that scanner to see what it's like to do this at higher resolution.

I also need to understand better what the industry standards are for this kind of thing. Still watching videos and I ordered some books. Anyway, just wanted to share my first attempt. How did I do?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg aRoseBeforeAndAfter.jpg (818.8 KB, 97 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-09-2015, 12:21 PM
Janitor

Re: My First Photo Restoration/Reconstruction

Keep up the good work.

But try to cultivate local, in-person restoration. That way you can control the scans, but more importantly you won't be competing against the entire internet for work. Develop relationships with the local museums, frame stores, photo shops, history clubs, etc.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-09-2015, 05:57 PM

Cool Re: My First Photo Restoration/Reconstruction

Hi RAnderson,

For a first photo restoration, I have to say, well done!