RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

How to approach this restoration

Old 10-03-2016, 08:24 AM

How to approach this restoration

Hi,
I am fairly new to photo restoration. I have done a few easier restorations but recently I was given a picture to try and restore that's in pretty bad shape. It is faded, and the edges are torn. But the main problem is that it is covered in black spots. I had a quick go at removing the spots using Dust and Scratches set to lighten, but this left a lot of white areas all over the photo.
I would greatly appreciate some advice on how best to approach this - do I sort out the spots first (if so, how?), get the levels adjusted so the photo is clearer or fix the damaged areas?

I was going to upload a copy of the picture, but can't get it below the 100kb file size limit.

Many thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-03-2016, 12:12 PM
Patron

Re: How to approach this restoration

Normally it helps to first to get the image into a fit state relating to contrast density prior to attempting the rest of restoration.

Obviously you want to do it yourself so why not just post a crop section of your image so we can see the problem and make suggestions. If you do this do not try and correct first. Also state what software you will be using
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-03-2016, 01:14 PM

Thanks Tony, I'll do that when I get a chance.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-03-2016, 02:13 PM

Okay, here's a crop of the photo before any edits. The background is pretty similar shading to the rest of the pic, so I think it may be tricky to get the levels right.

retouchprosmall.jpg

I've also uploaded the crop after applying a D&S layer set to lighten, which does shift most of the black dots, but then leaves lots of white.

retouchprosmall despeckle.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-03-2016, 05:01 PM
Patron