Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Copying part of a channel

Old 11-29-2002, 06:40 AM
Copying part of a channel

As a newbie, I was having a go at challenge #44 with Photoshop 7. I got bogged down in an issue which really shouldn't be that difficult.

The writing at the bottom of the photo needs to be removed, and, conveniently, doesn't show in the blue channel. So, just take that part of the image from the blue channel and leave behind the messy writing in the other two. Comments suggest that's what many folks have done.

Only no one gives details on exactly how to do it. Some say they just took the entire channel and dumped all of red and green, which strikes me as a bit heavy handed. I've tried selecting the writing, but can't get anything like an accurate selection for it.

Can someone give me a clue? Or better, a step by step guide on how they got rid of that writing using the blue channel information?

Much appreciated...
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-29-2002, 07:03 AM
Hi Derek,
To dump any channel, just hold it, in the channels window, whith your mouse and drag it to the litle trashcan on the bottom, or right click-delete. To copy it into it's own document, Choose the channel you want then on the picture ctrl-c or on the toolbar, edit/select/all. The open a new doc and ctrl-v or edit/paste. You can mix and match any or all channels that way. When you do however, there's a lot of new adjusting needed sometimes for color or levels. But that's a way to start.
When you choose a channel from the pallete, the picture you see on your monitor is the one you anre now working with, so anything you do is done to that channel only.
Hope this is a start.
There are many tutorials on this site and if you do a forum search for channels, you should find a lot more information.