Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Advertise Here

Digital Camera Noise

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2002, 12:10 AM

Digital Camera Noise

Hi all,

I am a newbie to the site so please forgive my incompetence. Moving right along, is there a trick to removing digital camera noise in images, without totally blurring them ? For example, see the attached image. This is a detail from a digital photo of a sunset that I took recently. You can see the graininess of the noise in the image, and, well, it has that "nails-on-chalkboard" feeling to me. I can get rid of some of the noise if I resize the image to about 1/3 the size, of course, but I would like to know if there are better ways. Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sunset12_crop.jpg (42.7 KB, 158 views)
Old 12-04-2002, 01:51 AM

Welcome Metabug, there are some commercial/shareware/freeware options to be found in this link to further links:

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~binar...V_links.html#G

Some are Photoshop plugs for Mac or PC, some are PC apps and some are Photoshop 6 or higher actions, as well as tips and techniques on the subject.

Hope this helps,

Stephen Marsh.
Old 12-04-2002, 02:10 PM

Hey Metabug:

Let me add my welcome, too.

Check out the free actions offered at this site. Among them is a good noise reducer...
http://www.2morrow.dk/75ppi/coolpix/actions/

Another alternative is the actions offered (for sale, not too expensive) at www.FredMiranda.com. I've not used these, but many people rave about their effectiveness.

Hope this helps...

~DannyR~
Old 12-04-2002, 02:35 PM

Welcome Metabug!

I've had really good luck with Neat Image. They have both a free and shareware version. Well worth the registration fee I think!

Jeanie
Old 12-04-2002, 04:41 PM

Neatimage is the best that I've seen.

(www.neatimage.com)
Old 12-04-2002, 06:46 PM

Quote: