RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Facial reconstruction

Old 12-16-2002, 08:23 PM

Facial reconstruction

I have tried searching for tips on this subject. If I knew the right key words I might have had better results. I am looking for resources on techniques and guidelines for reconstructing faces. I have a couple of images that have badly blown-out facial areas. In some cases a 1/4 of one side of a face is gone. I am not an artist and, being a man, know very little about makeup techniques. I'm learning to use my Graphire2 but I really stink in freehand drawing.

Maybe there is a good book I can buy? I have Katrin Eismann's Photoshop Restoration and Retouching, and Martin Evening's Adobe Photoshop for Photographers.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-17-2002, 01:04 AM

Quote:
I really stink in freehand drawing. - Kevin
I'm a longtime member of THAT club! I think it was Mig or some other artist RP member who posted some info about symmetry related to the human face -- like where the ears and eyes should be, so that when restoring an extremely damaged photo, we would know where to attach a new ear, etc.

Hopefully, someone willl remind us where that post is ("Search" doesn't work too well if I don't remember what term was used in the post...) On the net, I recently found a website with tips for cartoon drawing that included a bit of direction about facial symmetry (see "Horiz_sym" below), and the About webpages have a section on drawing portraits which have some info about facial construction. I knew "approximately" where to replace ears, but having a specific guideline can help when the photo doesn't give many clues.

Lessons - Drawing Portraits

Modes of thinking
Attached Images
File Type: gif horiz symmetry.gif (33.0 KB, 115 views)

Last edited by CJ Swartz; 12-17-2002 at 01:09 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-17-2002, 05:43 AM