RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Newbie to this site - Pricing Question

Old 04-08-2004, 02:43 AM

Newbie to this site - Pricing Question

Hello all,

Was doing some research tonight and came across this excellent resource. I'm a web developer but have been doing more and more retouching work after dating a pro photographer / retoucher.

Question.. How much would one charger per image as an amature for a image that would be used by a professional. Ie) Realtor Mug.

Be back Soon,

B
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-08-2004, 05:57 AM

Hi brandonx49,

Welcome to RP!

I'm surely not the right person to answer your question as Photoshop is just a hobby for me.... but I searched the forums for topics concerning quoting and pricing Restoration/Retouching jobs ..... I think here you can find what you are looking for .... Just scroll down the forum's page ...

Reply With Quote top
Old 04-08-2004, 06:00 PM

Have an hourly rate you can quote but...

We charge $75 per in Hillsborough, NC for all digital manipulation work including cropping, sixing, color balancing, restoration, blablabla. If you're into this because you like it and enjoy the challenge though, you tend to go overboard when doing a job. I usually use any downtime I have tweaking a finished job trying to make it better... I probably shouldn't but I can't help myself. I usually stick to my estimate in terms of actual charges but I show my actual hours on the invoice and then credit the overage to the client so they know what actually went into the job.
We charge between $30.00 and $120 to digitize the original depending on the size and process. For originals up to A4 we use an Imacon scanner and charge $37.50. Between A4 and 22" we shoot with a Nikon D1X and charge $50. Anything larger gets the fine art treatment with a 4x5 camera and we scan the film on the Imacon, that's $120.