RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Is there a misconception about Sepia???

Old 05-19-2004, 09:01 PM

Is there a misconception about Sepia???

Please bare with me here. I am a newbie at all this and I am just trying from history from being rewritten. I know nothing about Sepia, except I see a lot of it in old photo's. I am currently trying to restore one. The Photographer I am working with supplied me the photo to retouch. I ask him if the customer wanted to retain some of the sepia color. He said yes, I said that is caused from aging isn't it ? He bluntly said "No"! He has been a good photographer for 35 years in business here in town and knows his stuff. According to him" it was a treatment to make the photo last longer, they just did it a long time ago". I am confused now, what is the truth about Sepia? After searching the net I came up empty. Thank you for your thoughts!!!
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-19-2004, 09:31 PM

Sepia is normally caused by aging. There could possibly be a process that was used to preserve the photos, but all the sepia I've ever seen has been due to age.

- Noel
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-19-2004, 10:31 PM

Sepia is a number of things;

-it is used as a loose term to describe a brown and white as opposed to a black and white photo. To some this means a certain color brown, others think any color of brown is sepia.