Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Screen vs Levels to Lighten an Image?

Old 07-02-2004, 07:52 PM
Question Screen vs Levels to Lighten an Image?

I am new to digital photography and digital image editing. I am using Photoshop Elements 2.0, along with Richard Lynch's "Hidden Powers" cd. My question relates to adjusting tone (lightness / darkness) in an image.

What is the "best" way to lighten an underexposed image? I have read about the following:

1. Creating a duplicate layer, changing the blend mode to "Screen" and adjusting the Opacity.

2. Creating a Levels Adjustment Layer and adjusting levels.

3. Creating a Curves Adjustment Layer. (I am a bit confused by curves.)

I have also read in Richard Lynch's book about splitting luminosity so you can adjust tone without impacting color (I believe), but I am not sure how to proceed after I split the luminosity. Do I simply add a levels or curves adjustment on top of the luminosity layer? Or some other procedure?

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-02-2004, 08:34 PM
I'm new also and have been searching, reading and learning this last month.

I haven't read that there's one perferred method, I think it depends on each photograph and its problems.

In addition to the methods you mentioned:

Create a new layer - overlay blending mode.
Use a low opacity brush.
Paint in white on selective areas to lighten.
Paint in black to darken.
Adjust layer opacity if needed.

As for selecting luminosity - Ctrl Alt ~
Ctrl J will paste it on a new layer.
Make that layer overlay and adjust opacity as necessary.

I'm sure there are many more ways... I'm still searching

Reply With Quote top
Old 07-02-2004, 09:49 PM
Also try:

Create a curves adjustment layer - dont change curve at all just change blending mode to screen. This is easier on resources than a duplicate layer.

Reply With Quote top