RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

can this be restored?

Old 07-04-2004, 07:37 AM

can this be restored?

hi, found you all from the talented folks at PST. my first post here. a coworker gave me a couple of photos of his family to play with and i was going to try to clean them up. i thought maybe you all could give me some tips or links to tuts or perhaps in this forum that could help me out. i'm curious how to get rid of the extreme graininess/texture in this photo.
Attached Images
File Type: gif Uncle Philippe Poitevien at 5 years old, circa 1949.gif (81.4 KB, 153 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-04-2004, 10:27 AM

Hi Carly,

I'm new to restoration also, but you'll learn quickly with all the information available here and at other sites.

I think your first problem is file format. Never save a photograph in .gif.

I was able to remove the grain using the methods found here at the tutorial forum and by using google to search for other methods and tutorials.

http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/rp-tutorials/

Regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg grainyboy.jpg (85.3 KB, 126 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-04-2004, 11:10 AM

Hi Carly,

First off you need to work in a different format when retouching photos. As freelancer mentioned, gif is not an ideal format for photos.

The GIF (pronounced "Jiff") is excellent for graphics with a limited number of colors. It is idea for saving graphics with solid colors and reducing a file size for the web. It is not a good format for saving photos because it can only display a maximum of 256. Therefore, if you save a photograph as a gif you will lose a lot of valuable information.