RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Help with zooming and sharpening

Old 08-04-2004, 05:40 PM

Help with zooming and sharpening

I hope this is the right area of the forum. I'm using photoshop cs and I'm a total newbie. I have several jpeg images of products for a new website and I want to enlarge them. Also most of them need to be rotated about 45 degrees. I've found that some distortion occurs when I rotate arbitrarily and there's definitely distortion when I enlarge the image. I'm assuming the best tool to use to fix this is the unmask sharp tool. Can anyone give me some tips or pointers on this tool or any other tools that might be helpful after I rotate and enlarge my images?

Thank you,
John
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-04-2004, 05:44 PM
Janitor

Enlarging from a JPG is hard because JPG (by definition) tosses out a lot of image information to compact the file size. There are some 3rd-party apps that might help with this (someone might be kind enough to recommend some), but I'd recommend simple stair interpolation. Increase the size 10% at a time using bicubic resampling (or bicubic sharper if you have PScs). Resize first, then rotate for best results. And don't rotate more than once, each time is destructive.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-04-2004, 05:53 PM

Thank you for the quick reply. Might I have better results if I first changed the image to a tiff file and then did the resizing and rotating? Also can you explain more about "stair interpolation". Thanks again.

John
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-04-2004, 05:56 PM
Janitor

Changing to TIF (or PSD) will prevent further degradation. They are "lossless" formats (as opposed to JPG). You can then export to JPG should you ever need that file format.