RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Epson scan or SilverfastSE

Old 08-07-2004, 09:31 PM

Epson scan or SilverfastSE

Silver fast came with the scanner so I'm not sure which I should use. Anyone have experience with these programs?
I'm using it for flatbed scanning original photos.

Is there a better version of Silverfast?
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-07-2004, 09:39 PM
Janitor

I have them both and use Epsonscan. A lot of the Silverfast options are replicated (better) in Photoshop. Just use Epsonscan, turn off all automation, and get the best raw scan you can. Then use PS to make adjustments.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-07-2004, 09:43 PM

What setting are you using? Since I'm just starting out it would good to know.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-07-2004, 09:56 PM
Janitor

It varies from scan to scan, plus I use a calibrating package (Monaco EasyColor2, which should come with your scanner). But I generally scan in 16bit mode. That's about the only constant. Everything else changes depending on what I'm scanning.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-07-2004, 10:18 PM

Actually it didn't come with it. Also since I've just started can you give me a few examples of what you scanned and the settings?
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-07-2004, 11:11 PM
Janitor