RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Cleaning Dust from Photos/Scanner

Old 12-16-2004, 07:45 AM

Cleaning Dust from Photos/Scanner

Hello,

I have a cloth used to clean eyeglasses and wondered if this would be okay to clean my scanner glass and to even use on the photo itself to remove dust.

Thanks,

Mona
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-16-2004, 08:30 AM

Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
I'm not an expert on this, but I don't know why it wouldn't be OK. Personally, I keep my scanner covered with a sheet of plastic cut from a garbage bag when not in use. This helps keep it clean.

Ed
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-16-2004, 10:06 PM

I've been using Flents Optico opti-mist, an anti static liquid I
bought from Target stores. It's intended for optical glass.
It comes in a clear plastic container, round, about 6 inches high
and an inch or so in diameter.

I spray (fine mist) it on, then use a soft cloth
to wipe it off. I use a very old white T shirt.
Seems to help. I use it once in a while.
For very light dusting, a can of compressed air helps too.

I'm not sure if the scanner glass is actually glass or a hardened plastic.
Perhaps it's worth contacting the manufacturer for specifics.

My scanner is a 1999 Epson Expression 800.
regards,
Dave
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-17-2004, 03:38 PM

I use one of those high density cloths on any glass but coated optics; could probably use there too but I'm just not sure. I use it on the non-emulsion side of transparecies to lift dust and fingerprints. I have accidentally scratched prints with them.
Chip
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-17-2004, 05:12 PM

Exclamation Cleaning dust from scanner