RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Body Sculpting

Old 01-23-2005, 06:46 PM

Body Sculpting

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum so hope I am not duplicating previous requests. has anyone done any tutorials or challenges on body scuplting. It is my impression that a lot has been done on the glamour and portrait side, but little on the hands on of improving a picture for someone who is self-conscious. I am referring to the alteration of: hips; double chins; lazy eye thighs, buttocks, triceps etc.

Any comments or information would be helpful. it would be nice to see a Challenge where perhaps a few body parts may be altered.

Unfortunately, I am not a professional photographer and do not have any photographs to post, but am interested in this form of retouching.

Regards,

Sean2
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-23-2005, 08:24 PM

I don't know if this will help, but in video we have a problem called "Binocular to Monocular Conversion Distortion." In short this is the property that something may look completely normal when you look at it with both eyes, but it looks weird when seen with only one lens (i.e. a camera). In women, this usually manifests itself in the jaw line, and in men it is usually the nose that causes the problem.

This is solved on film (motion) by movement and not choosing camera angles that cause the problem. But in photography it takes a little photo editing to correct the problem. NEVER MAKE A CHANGE THAT CHANGES THE WAY SOMEONE LOOKS UNLESS THEY ASK YOU TO!! I only do this to pictures of people I know well and, therefore, know what their chin or nose looks like. People who paint or draw correct this problem automatically.