RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Uneven Exposure

Old 07-05-2005, 06:50 AM

Uneven Exposure

I have been using my digital camera to take pictures of my dad's old photos. What I find is that many times I have sections of the photo that appear oddly underexposed. I would like to even up the contrast across the entire print. I am a newbie at using Photoshop 6. Thanks in advance for your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dad.jpg (97.7 KB, 85 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-05-2005, 08:46 AM

I am wondering of you are not getting reflections off the print because it is curled or from fold lines that give you surfaces that will reflect the light.

How are you copying these prints? Are you copying them on a photo copy stand with lights? You may want to try and copy them through a clean, flat glass pane that will flatten the image.

k
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-05-2005, 01:23 PM

simon,

welcome to the forums

i'm assuming from what you said and the way you said it, that your photo that you take isnt matching up with the original photo, in which case do what ken said. but also, move your camera back just a bit more and take in the whole photo plus a little extra. you can crop out the extra in photoshop. this will reduce the possibility and slur of a not quite true camera lens. i had a camera once that did exactly this. if you took a picture of a picture the round lens taking a picture of a square or retangular image somehow would blur at the corners of the original. but that shldnt account for any underexposure.