RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Skintones

Old 09-01-2005, 12:15 PM

Skintones

I'm not very good at retouching and would like to become better....i have submitted a before and after shot of a model i shot a few days ago. Any tips, suggestions or otherwise would be a great help. Thanks in advance to all.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg before.jpg (45.1 KB, 161 views)
File Type: jpg after.jpg (38.1 KB, 156 views)

Last edited by tmosley; 09-01-2005 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-01-2005, 12:46 PM

hi tmosley,

and welcome to RP!

first thing is, what effect do you want to achieve. are you looking to make this a high glamour shot, an artistic sort of image or what?

if you're going for glamour, the first thing i'd do is adjust your lighting. the picture is somewhat dark. i'd brighten it up a bit and add a bit more contrast, probably. you can do that with 'curves' or 'brightness/contast' either as an adjustment layer or directly applied to the layer.

the second thing i see is the 'pasty' look. this is mostly in your retouched face. it comes about from having cloned or smudged too much. you lose the texture and get a monotone look which gives the 'pasty' look.

Craig
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-01-2005, 01:06 PM

Here is my attemtpt. Using color correction on midtones. Before adjust saturation
Attached Images
File Type: jpg attempt.jpg (81.4 KB, 126 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-01-2005, 04:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraellin
hi tmosley,

and welcome to RP!

first thing is, what effect do you want to achieve. are you looking to make this a high glamour shot, an artistic sort of image or what?