RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

subtle, smooth burn and dodge on skin

Old 12-06-2005, 09:30 AM

subtle, smooth burn and dodge on skin

Hi, I am new here. I need some expert advice here.
I am a photographer learning to do beauty retouching. Currently I don't use dodge and burn tools for colour portraits in PS. Instead I create a new layer with overlay blendling mode and with the 50% neutral Grey check box. I paint across the model face with a soft paint brush (also airbush) tool with black (D)or white(X). Now I find it difficult to get a very smooth, gradual transition in skin tone across large areas being lightened or darkened. I try this technique with both graphic tablet and mouse pad. The only control of I have is to lower the opacity of the duplicated layer if the transition between burn (or dodge ) and untouched areas look too artificial or too "blotchy or patchy ".

I have also tried blending mode to Colur Burn or Colour Dodge using Dodge and Burn tools..but I am not happy with the subtlety of the results. Please advice.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2005, 09:34 AM

Hello there,

have you tried using very low settings (approx. 15% each) on the Opacity and Flow settings of your brush? You'll need more strokes but you get finer control.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2005, 09:42 AM

When I use a 50% grey overlay for dodging and burning, I usually start with a large very soft brush and an opacity of approx 4-5%, brush opacity that is, not layer opacity
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2005, 09:59 AM

dodge and burn technique

http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/sho...ghlight=heyrad

Hello

The link above is a great thread that includes the technique you are talking about. Have a read through. I have only been using this method and it is much better than using blur.
Reply With Quote top