RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Porcelain Skin Look

Old 01-27-2006, 10:40 AM

Porcelain Skin Look

I'm just getting started in this restoration/retouching, but someone was kind enough to link to a website they had a portfolio posted on and I was captivated by the effect they were able to achieve in some of thier images:

http://www.ffureel.co.uk/p7.htm
http://www.ffureel.co.uk/p4.htm
http://www.ffureel.co.uk/p11.htm

I originally thought it might just be an extreme shadow/hilight adjustment but that didn't seem to get the job done.

I tried duplicating the base layer set the blending to soft light then play with a levels adj. layer as well, but that also, seemed to fall short.

Does anyone have any suggestions on obtaining this look posted in the above examples (also seems to be used in magazines a lot as well).

Thanks,
T
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-27-2006, 11:16 AM

I don’t think that it’s very hard to get this effect, you should try to duplicate layer then blur it a bit and set to soft light, then make curves adjustment, desaturate it. I suggest you to work in LAB mode, I found it very useful, there’s bunch of information about it in this forum, try to search it.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-27-2006, 08:26 PM
Patron

For the image of the lovely lady, I brought the image over to LAB and got to the same place by apply a heavy contrast in the L and shifting the A channel toward green. At that point, using a brush in Saturate mode, the eyes became thew exact same bright blue by increasing the saturation, as did the lips. The rest of it appears to have been airbrushed. If you examine the two images side by side you will see that a large hair strand on the neck has been removed along with all of the skin imperfections.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-27-2006, 10:14 PM