RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How do I "make" a pageant photo?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2006, 04:19 PM

How do I "make" a pageant photo?

Hi, I am an extreme newbie. My daughter is in pageants and the photos are sooo expensive. I know there is software out there to "turn regular photo into pageant qulaity types" I just need to know the best one to get started. and also a software to achieve the oh so important eyelashes. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks, Kim
Old 05-23-2006, 08:54 PM

Unfortunately, there is no magical software that will "turn a regular photo into a pageant quality type".

What you will find is software that will allow you, with some work, to bring the picture more inline with what you expect.

If you are just starting, try Photoshop Elements 4.0 from Adobe
It is fairly inexpensive and doesn't have a very steep learning curve.

The next one that you might also consider is Paintshop Pro 10 from Corel. It will not break the bank and it will take you to a much higher level. It is more sophisticated than Photoshop Elements, but it is also a bit more complex to work wtih.

Finaly there is Photoshop CS2 ( the latest release is CS2 but many members use 7.0, CS1 etc). It is the big cheese in the photo retouching arena. It is big, complicated, expensive and has a steep learning curve. It is, however, the standard by which all other packages are compared to.

These 3 packages will help you "glamourizing" your snapshots , but none will convert a normal photo into a glamour photograph.

For that you will need time, patience and experience. How do you get experience?