RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Increasing image depth - Looking for ideas

Old 06-27-2006, 07:36 PM

Increasing image depth - Looking for ideas

I read Flora’s tutorial about removing photo paper texture from images and was very impressed. Flora, you get some amazing results! In the middle of the tutorial, she talks about increasing the depth of the image. I have had the same problem after removing excessive noise. I started to research on increasing image depth and found little help so decided to experiment.

BTY – I only do restoration as a hobby for family members and friends. I have ZERO experience in retouching so am on somewhat shaky ground. I “borrowed” four photos from recent post on RP to play with. Many thanks to the original posters. I have posted the results on my web server as mouse-overs (original on top – revised underneath). In the world of retouching, is this a step forward or a step backward? I seem discussion about removing “hot” spots and here I am trying to create them – Well at least “warm” spots. It may also be overdone. I would like your comments.

Also, are there any other techniques that improve the depth of an image?

http://oosterbaan.us/Photoshop/Depth_Examples/
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-28-2006, 03:51 AM

Hi duwayne,

..thank you so much for your kindness!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by duwayne
In the world of retouching, is this a step forward or a step backward? I seem discussion about removing “hot” spots and here I am trying to create them – Well at least “warm” spots. It may also be overdone. I would like your comments.
In my opinion, in the world of retouching (as opposed to restoring), it's a matter of personal taste...and even more so if you do this as a "hobby for family members and friends"!

In general, I like all retouches you did..

From left to right: