RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Hi everyone - help please

Old 07-16-2006, 03:36 AM

Hi everyone - help please

Hi
Being disabled with MS (spending most of my time at home) I find it hard to fill my days with anything meaningfull.

I have now been looking at RP for some weeks now, and after being asked by a few people if I could 'mend' their photos I find myself wanting more.
I am not very good (Infact a complete novice) but I feel I have the will to learn more and more in an attempt to get as good as some of the 'posters' who frequent these pages.

What I would like to know is anyone could reccomend a way that I could learrn (from home) from the very basics upwards without the need to spend too much of my limited amount of income?

Many thanks to all for a brilliant and informative web site
Thx
Smurf
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-16-2006, 05:43 AM

Hello ukpapasmurf I am sorry to hear that you have got MS.
The best way to learn (I gather that you have Photoshop if not have a look in to getting a copy) is by practise. I learnt Photoshop by spending all time time going through tutorials and techniques.
For a begginer I would look in to some books by Scott Kelby as he is fantasic when it comes to explaining the techniques to begginers. Also I would recomend you to go to http://good-tutorials.com and http://pixel2life.com as they have some good tutorials on there for begginers.
After you get familer with the program look in to getting books and training videos by Deke Mcclelland (SP?) as he is a very very good instructor and can teach you that next step.
After you know how to use the program I would recomend you to practise, practise and more practise. The more that you practise the better you will become.
I hope this helps you.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-16-2006, 06:19 AM

Hi ukpapasmurf,