RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Shine

Old 04-14-2007, 08:30 PM

Shine

This is my first post. I've been reading and learning a great deal about retouching that I have not seen anywhere else. I'm a part time portrait photographer who shoots digital and makes adjustments in Photoshop CS2.

My current problem is "shine". I have not develop a means of retouching the very shiny hotspots that can accidently appear when I'm not paying enough attention to the lighting. I really like the degrunge method of retouching; however, I need to do something about the shine before starting the other retouching. I typically use the patch tool in CS2, but I'm not really satisfied with the results since this method changes how the skin surface looks, e.g., pores, etc.

I have attached (I hope) a sample of what I'm dealing with. Some of the shine can just be cloned out. THe large areas are another matter for me. Any guidance would be most appreciated.

Thanks, Jerry
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shine.jpg (97.9 KB, 64 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-14-2007, 09:31 PM

Re: Shine

Jeez man, I think you chose the worst possible skin texture to post. Happy degrunging, dodging and burning, cloning, etc.

What I usually do for shine is use the clone brush set on darken, at about 18-25% opacity. Just build it up with multiple clicks. Looks a lot better than the straight up cloning tool on Normal or the healing brush which sometimes looks kind of obvious.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shine small.jpg (53.8 KB, 42 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-14-2007, 09:38 PM

Hi Jerry-