RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Suggestions needed on 1st retouch. Also: Is it eseential to be an "Artist"

Old 06-14-2007, 12:48 PM

Suggestions needed on 1st retouch. Also: Is it eseential to be an "Artist"

Hi,

This is my first post on the site, so hello to everyone.

I'm very new to photo retouching (what I mean by new is I retouched my first photo last night in photoshop 7!!!!) so if I ask any blatant or obvious questions, please bear with me

I was just wondering whats everyones thoughts on actually being able to draw? I realise it would help but is it possible to be any good if your not a natural artist?

Thanks

Michael

p.s. If your interested this was the finished product - I know the eyes are a bit too blue but it was just something I wanted to do... ;-)

I toned down her freckles slightly, tried to smooth out any obvious blotches and whitened her teeth. I didn't try and make it too glamorous, tried to keep it looking as real as possible, but not sure if I have achieved that, you decide ....

http://img339.imageshack.us/my.php?i...reaftertl4.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-14-2007, 12:51 PM

Re: Eseential to be an "Artist"

Out of interest, could someone fix her jawline and post how they did it? Its quite dark and looks slightly off (this was also in the original photo...)

Thanks

Michael
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-14-2007, 04:01 PM

Here's my take on your original. I tried to keep it a little natural and I might have smoothed the skin a little too much. I lessened the shadow area along the jawline with a low opacity clone stamp on lighten mode and the same settings with the brush tool.
Don't forget, we are dealing with a low quality snap shot.

http://img364.imageshack.us/my.php?i...reafterry9.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-14-2007, 04:08 PM