RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Changing the background

Old 06-25-2007, 12:57 PM

Changing the background

Hi,

I would like to changae the background on this image to say a beach or something appropriate, but I don't want it too look fake. i.e. if you put her on the beach the light will be wrong etc. Any ideas how i can do this or could someone point me in the right direction?

http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/...71048872399286

Thanks

P.S. i'm new to retouching!
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-25-2007, 06:15 PM

Re: Changing the background

You have a lot of light on the subject, so it won't hurt to put her in a sunny scene. Just be sure to pay attention to the perspective of what ever seen you choose to put her into. Also a key to making a montage work, is to put the character into the scene, not just in front of it. That means adding appropriate shadows, and putting the subject not only in front of objects, but behind other objects as well.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-27-2007, 02:00 AM

I think the easiest way to not make it look fake is to set it against a low light backdrop just like it actually is (eg., a beach at night with a campfire). Then it'll look fairly natural as though it were shot with a flash (which it was.)

Otherwise it would have to be a scene with the sun low and shining in her face (again, simulating what the flash was doing.) Then you'd add a warming filter to mimick the orange color of sunlight in such a condition.

Bart
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-27-2007, 12:50 PM

Guys,

Thanks for the reply's: Bart thats the lines i was hoping to go for but haven't found an appropriate picture yet. I don't want it to be too out of focus, i want it to look like she is clearly on holiday or something similiar but without it looking too "photoshoped"!
Reply With Quote top