RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Beauty Retouching Help

Old 08-29-2007, 02:11 AM

Beauty Retouching Help

Hi. This is my first post. I found out about this site through Model Mayhem reading a post on beauty retouching. I like this site.

I'm a photographer and up to this point I've done my own retouching. Now I'm starting to take beauty shots and since I'm aiming for magazine ad campaign level of quality, I want to make sure I'm applying the best techniques to accomplish the task.

As I take more beauty shots, I'm starting to notice something. Women, especially blondes, have hair on their faces (see example below).

I like showing the person as close to who they are a possible, but after looking at some beauty ads in Vogue I realize I need to go a little further.

Here is the original full resolution (2.87MB) photo at www.gregorystorm.com/retouchpro/beauty_059.jpg. And this is my original pass that I sent to the model. http://www.gregorystorm.com/retouchp...beauty_059.jpg. On my second pass I'm going to remove the mole, the forehead vein, and the couple fly aways on the top right.

Here are my questions:

1.) Is there a better way to remove the little blonde hairs other than one strand at a time with clone or heal?

2.) When do you know when to stop retouching beauty shots?

Thanks,

Gregory
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-29-2007, 02:26 AM

Re: Beauty Retouching Help

Hi Gregory, welcome to the site.

Usually I don't take those fine facial hairs out completely, just tone them down a bit (ie blurred layer on top, reduce opacity).

A couple of things I notice about your photo:

1) the odd pinkness on her lower eyelids - perhaps she's really like that, I don't know, but I'd probably un-pink them a bit.