RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Yet Another Skin Retouch Method

Old 09-24-2007, 08:08 PM

Yet Another Skin Retouch Method

I have been working to master the dodge & burn technique for retouching skin but just can’t get to where I’m satisfied with the results. This is especially difficult when dealing with “blotchy” skin. I have been working on three images previously posted on this site. I don’t recall who the original poster was but thank a million for the practice material.

I started playing with an alternate approach that would remove the blotches and retain the skin pores. The following URL shows the three images after the retouch.

http://oosterbaan.us/Retouching-skin/

The following are the main step in the process.

Step 1 – Duplicate the background layer and run Filter-> Other-> High-Pass. Watch the preview window until you have a reasonable definition of the shin pores. Click OK and set the blending mode to Linear Light. Turn this layer off (click the little eyeball).

Step 2 – Duplicate the background layer again and run Filter-> Blur-> Gaussian Blur to smooth out the pores and skin defects. I used something around 10. Click OK

Step 3 – On this same layer, run Filter-> Noise-> Median to smooth out the blotchiness. I used something around 40