RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

To BLUR or not to BLUR

Old 12-03-2007, 09:11 AM

Question To BLUR or not to BLUR

I was told by a "High-end" photographer/retoucher that you NEVER blur an image. It destroys skin texture, smoothes everything out and gives a plastic, not natural look. Making up skin texture is also no good because it does not look like real skin texture.

I was also told that a lot of NYC photographers still shoot film. I am not a camera expert but it seems to me digital cameras give you that smooth look to begin with.

The tutorial for the "Dior Look" is great but it relies heavily on the blur and I am not sure you can use that technique everywhere.

There are ways to do the job without blurring but that is time consuming.

So I am confused and looking for opinions on the use of blurring.

Is it OK to have blurred images with made up skin texture in your portfolio? Or should you keep looking for the best originals to avoid the blur all together?
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2007, 09:42 AM

Re: To BLUR or not to BLUR

Don't blur.

High end retouching takes time. High end retouching does not utilize blur.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-03-2007, 09:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin thompson View Post
I was told by a "High-end" photographer/retoucher that you NEVER blur an image. It destroys skin texture, smoothes everything out and gives a plastic, not natural look. Making up skin texture is also no good because it does not look like real skin texture.
What you are describing are uses of the blur technique that create a mess. If you try to fix everything by blurring, you'll fix nothing and and everyone will say, "Ah, blurred skin. Never works." As with every technique and tool, the trick is to hide your tracks. If they know you were there, you lose.

Quote: